Celebrating Diversity: A Conversation with Miss America

DateFriday, July 25, 2014 
Time08:00 (EST) | 12:00 (UTC) | 17:30 (Delhi)  Time Zone Converter
Duration1h 0m
LanguageEnglish
RegionsGlobal, SCA
ThemesAmerican Culture, Cultural Heritage, Culture, Education, Equality, Minorities, Multiculturalism, STEM, Youth
Join
Description


How does America celebrate its many cultures and what are the ways Indian culture has affected America?  On Friday, 25 July 2014 at 12:00 UTC engage in a webchat with Ms. Nina Davuluri, current Miss America, as she talks about diversity in the United States and about the importance of education in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).  Nina Davuluri won the Miss America 2014 contest out of more than 13,000 young women on a platform of “Celebrating Diversity through Cultural Competency”.  She is the first Indian-American to become Miss America and so much more.  She is also a social entrepreneur, science professional, and dancer. The video chat will be moderated by Smithsonian Institution curator Dr. Masum Momaya, who has recently curated an exhibit about Indian and Indian-American contributions to the United States throughout its history. Join us live and ask your questions!

This program is in English. 

Speaker
Nina Davuluri, Miss America
Moderator
Masum Momaya, Curator, Smithsonian Institution